Dear Woman On the Park Bench

Dear woman on the park bench

What has brought you here?

For the summer days are over

And the birds you feed have flown

Perhaps you’re simply resting

After the walk you took from home

Dear woman on the park bench

Are you saving the other seat?

Your leather satchel marks a spot

That a second body could meet

You clutch a bag of birdseed

In your withered hands so frail

I do have to wonder if

You’re aware of what that entails

Dear woman on the park bench

You offer me a sneer

It must be the silver curls of hair

Pinned so tightly to your ears

Dear woman on the park bench

Did you come here for the breeze?

The autumn winds are blowing fast

They’ve even shook me to my knees

Dear woman on the park bench

With ivory skin so clear

It’s not hard to imagine

That you’re wise beyond your years

Dear woman on the park bench

Do you mind if I take a seat?

You seem so full of stories

I could spends weeks to hear them all

Let the seasons go on changing

Go from summer into fall

Dear woman on the park bench

I’m scared that you’ll catch cold

Those mittens that you’re wearing

Your hands shiver in their hold

Dear woman on the park bench

I have to get back home

I’ll fetch a blanket on the way

So please don’t up and go

Dear woman on the park bench

As you’re mumbling a prayer

I can’t help but to wonder

If you’ve noticed I was there

Dear woman on the park bench

I’m leaving now, you see

If you should come this way again

Please keep an eye out for me

Dear woman on the park bench

You didn’t show last year

From the way you looked so small and frail

It fueled my greatest fear

Dear woman on the park bench

You’ve gone into the clouds

I’ve left a flower on your seat

Should you ever come back down

Dear woman on the park bench

There’s so much I haven’t said

All I have are memories

Locked up inside my head

Leave a Reply

