Oh, the Irony! ~My First Job

So, as most of you know–if you’ve read some of my previous posts–I’m unemployed and am currently looking for a job. I made a vow to myself that I wouldn’t get a job in the fast food business, especially not as my first job. So that narrowed down my options in this small town of mine. Well…the good news is, I just got off the phone with the manager of a particular business. In the food industry. I have an interview ttomorrow morning to see if I fit the bill.

Here’s where the irony comes in:

1. It’s a fast-food place, more or less.

2. It’s fucking Subway.

Yup, you read correctly. If you happened to read an old post of mine, “The Tale of the Subway Sandwich,” you surely know that the particular sandwich shop is not a top-favorite, for me or my stomach. (I don’t have my links working yet, so look it up, yourself) The dangers that lurk past those double entrance doors…Yet here I am, going into a interview for the forsaken place tomorrow morning.

Are you kitten me right now?

Are you kitten me right now?

I suppose it could be worse–McDonald’s is always hiring for some horrifying reason. So I guess that I got the long end of the stick for this one. If you close one eye, squint the other one really hard, and spin around, Subway doesn’t look like it would fall under the title of “Fast Food.” Don’t they even have a jingle or something about how “it’s not fast food”? Regardless, I still pretty much didn’t break my vow (or maybe I’m just trying to make myself feel better). I’m still serving and slaving to the public, but what job doesn’t require that? A job is a job and money is money, so who am I to complain?

xfXLOju

The manager seems like a complete sweetheart, as I heard over the phone when I called in about my application. Maybe it won’t be too bad. I’m not working at Walmart or anything…Plus, I know just about every employee there, so hey, employee bonding, right?

I think I’ll be okay. First job, nobody’s harassed me for “previous experience” and I apparently don’t need it to put a sandwich together. Win-win. Now I have the task of going out and buying an outfit for the interview, and getting my hair cut so I don’t look like I just crawled out of the woods after fifty years.

X2QWq21

Just figured that I’d keep you guys updated. If everything goes well and I have the job, I’ll be sure to write about the interview and my first day of work. That should be a blast. I can see it now:

“So, Sara, what makes you qualified for Subway?”

“Well, the last sub I had from here gave me the runs…Buuut I’m all for poisoning the rest of the town! I’m a hard worker, too. My hands will be flying over that sandwich to get it away from me as quickly as possible.”

Qfwxy1V

Ok, maybe not exactly like that. We’ll see how it goes (:

Have a great day, and tomorrow we’ll find out if I finally got a job!

-Sara

10 responses to “Oh, the Irony! ~My First Job

    • Thanks! πŸ˜€ I hope so, too.
      It is a nice start into employment, and the job experience won’t hurt, either, when I eventually move on to other means of business.
      Ugh, Pizza Hut, huh? For years? Whew, that’s rough!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Watch for trick questions. I applied at Subway once a couple of decades ago. *Thinks* it would have been before Emma was born and she turned 19 years old in August so, yep *sigh*. Anyways, the question that tripped me up was if I’d rather work in the front serving customers or in the back preparing food. I was all excited. Two options? Turned out they don’t have anyone working “in the back”. They figured that if you would chose that option then you wouldn’t be social enough to engage the customers and your application got shredded.

    Maybe you can introduce them to the wonderful world of gloves, hair nets, and handwashing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh damn, that is a pretty good trick question, though. “Wanna work in the back, huh? No! There is no ‘back’, you unsocial heathen! Application denied! Jerry, bring out the shredder!”
      Fingers crossed about those hair nets. You’d think that they would include those in the uniform, seeing that every ingredient in laying beneath the employees and are subject to loose hairs. Ick, I might have to look away when I see the customers eating their sandwiches.

      Like

  2. Hope you get the job. I spent two years working at Baskin-Robbins (one year as a manager). It was barely above minimum wage. My family loved it because I was allowed to bring home a pint a night; I still can’t eat it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks (: I hope so, too.
      Oh man, I know how you feel. My best friend worked at Dairy Queen and was always bringing back ice cream and Blizzards to share. Then my brother had a job at a local Wendy’s and brought home milkshakes…Yeah, I cannot even stand to look at a milkshake anymore.
      I already know that my family is going to go crazy over these free “sandwiches”… The first words out of my step-dad’s mouth were, “So, looks like you’ll be bringing home dinner for us every week, now, huh?” Geez…

      Like

Leave a Reply

