Gentle Words

Beautiful woman, I know that you’re hours away, but every night, when I lay my head on my pillow, it feels as if you are right beside me. Your hands enclose mine, even if I can’t see it, it feels real as ever. Your breathing matches mine, despite the miles that separate us. We sleep like this every night, the empty space in my bed being filled with your form the moment I close my eyes.

My dreams are laden with thoughts of you, my mornings blissful with memories. The stroke of your thumb against my cheek becomes a swoosh of your arms encircling my waist as I pour my coffee.  Kisses up my shoulder-blades fuel the caffeine burst, leading me to the couch where I lay back and daydream of you joining me, leaning into the solid comfort of your chest.

Lover, you lend fiery thoughts to me as I spend my day at work. The fantasy of your fingers dancing on my skin never fails to make me stumble in front of a coworker at least twice a day. Your continuous growl in my ear blocks out all rational thought, and I’m left a squirming mess by evening. My lust is quenched once my bedroom door closes, and it’s much too easy to convince myself that my wandering fingers are yours. I’m drowning in ecstasy until the fantasies bring me to exhaustion.

Darling, the tender words from your mouth cause me to smile even on the hardest days. You chase the turmoil away, and leave just the two of us in its place. My heartstrings intertwine with yours, my heart bearing your name, your heart bearing mine. I think of us, in that moment, when everything is perfect.

5 responses to “Gentle Words

  1. This touches my heart, it’s a so sincere story. I feel your soul in every letter you wrote, and everything feels like suspended in that loving-feeling that you so accurately describe. Thank you for sharing it with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This means a lot coming from you, with your level of experience with poetry. I’m so happy that you found all the meanings and feelings I was attempting to portray in this piece. It’s comments like these that keep me coming back to poetry. Thank you for reading.
      X

      Like

      • Thank you for the compliment, I’m not that expert, but I try to put what I feel in the moment into my “poetry”. But I like stories, stories are precious and allow us to understand another person’s point of view, to mirror our feelings through someone else’s heart. Your piece was so deep and stunning, incredibly well-written and sincere! It was a pleasure to read it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

